What Does a Reiki Lifestyle Look Like?

{Originally posted on wildmagic.blog – 3 May 2017}

The Reiki lifestyle is rooted in a set of precepts passed down from Mikao Usui, and blossoms according to the individual healer’s sense of self.

Reiki energy offers harmony and balance to its practitioners and its patients. Therefore, living a Reiki lifestyle is an effort to live in balance and harmony with the world; conscious that at times it is a struggle to do so.

To live a Reiki lifestyle is to be open to the potential for growth while living a human life.

One of the greatest joys I have found in Reiki is its potential for application from a wide range of perspectives. You do not have to be of the Japanese culture to appreciate or understand it. You might be Catholic, Hindu or Muslim; the precepts and nature of Reiki healing stretch to fit your worldview just as well, without compromising the integrity of the healing.

The precepts are generally presented to Reiki students in two forms. As a quote from Mikao Usui and a list of guiding principles or affirmations.

The quote, translated from the original Japanese text, is as follows: “The secret art of inviting happiness/The spiritual medicine of all diseases (of body and mind)/Just for today, do not be angry/Do not be worried and be filled with gratitude/Devote yourself to your work and be kind to people/Every morning and evening sit in the Gassho position,/Pray these words to your heart/And chant these words with your mouth/Usui Reiki treatment for the improvement of body and mind” (Quest 40).

Penelope Quest points out in her book The Reiki Manual: A Training Guide for Reiki Students, Practitioners and Masters (2010) that these words echo sentiments expressed by emperor Mutsuhito, “whose reign”, she points out, “coincided with much of Usui’s life” (41). Perhaps this plays a part in the modality’s universal nature: its founder’s willingness to see himself as a part of a whole rather than a whole in and of himself. But that’s a subject for another post.

The precepts as principles are listed as follows:

  1. Just for today, do not anger or Just for today I will let go of anger
  2. Just for today, do not worry or Just for today I will let go of worry
  3. Honour your parents, teachers and elders or Today I will count my many blessings
  4. Earn your living honestly or Today I will do my work honestly
  5. Show gratitude to every living thing or Today I will be kind to every living creature

These five ideals lie at the heart of living a Reiki lifestyle, and are intended to assist healers in maximizing their power as channels for the Reiki energy. They are not dogma, but ideals to be strived for.

They highlight the need to live in the physical world, not just reside in meditation or a state of spiritual enlightenment. After all, we are all only human. No matter how often or deeply we connect with Spirit, we still live within the dimensions of earth.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close